[ILUG] procmail question...

kevin lyda kevin at linux.ie
Thu Jul 11 16:19:37 IST 2002


since it appears netnote has made at least two stupid hiring mistakes
(steve ryan and john sturdy both have 213.105.180.189 - netnote's firewall
address), i'm trying to figure out how to block all email from them except
for that from liam bedford.  as best i can tell i need to set this up:

    :0:
    * !^From.*lbedford at lbedford.org
    * 213.105.180.189
    /dev/null

i'm just uncertain if the 213.105.180.189 will just search headers,
or if it will cover the entire message body?  the 213.105.180.189 shows
up in a few headers (X-Originating-IP and Received:) so i can't give it
the exact header in the regex.

i must admit that in this economy i'm surprised that companies can afford
to keep employees that troll mailing lists during company time on staff.
hopefully i'm wrong; perhaps this john sturdy is just a work experience
student (in which case you should really fetch him a clue liam).

kevin

-- 
kevin at suberic.net     that a believer is happier than a skeptic is no more to
fork()'ed on 37058400    the point than the fact that a drunken man is happier
meatspace place: home       than a sober one. the happiness of credulity is a
http://ie.suberic.net/~kevin   cheap & dangerous quality -- g.b. shaw




More information about the ILUG mailing list