[ILUG] Best Email Server to Use
Michele Neylon :: Blacknight
michele at blacknight.ie
Fri Aug 1 12:08:13 IST 2008
On 1 Aug 2008, at 12:02, Colm Buckley wrote:
> On Fri, Aug 1, 2008 at 11:30 AM, Michele Neylon :: Blacknight <michele at blacknight.ie
> > wrote:
>
> >From recollection there was a section about the sender source ie.
> where the mail came from . This includes other SMTP servers etc.,
> right back to the actual person's desktop.
>
> And when email is sent through GMail from an SMTP client, all of
> these headers are preserved. The question remains; what information
> should be captured when the *webmail* interface is used - should we
> "pretend" that it's SMTP and make up a "Received" header for the
> HTTP client? That strikes me as violating the principle of least
> surprise, as well as twisting the purpose of the header - and I
> don't like the way Yahoo! does it per your example below. I still
> haven't seen a reference to an RFC which we're "flouting" with GMail.
All the other webmail services do it. Gmail wants to be different
The knockon effect of them doing this is extremely negative. That
Google ignore this and try to fudge whenever it's mentioned seems to
be a given
>
>
> In my opinion, the purpose of the Received: headers is clearly to
> track the mail's progress by SMTP; I really don't think it's good
> practise to arbitrarily redefine it to include webmail receipt.
> RFC2821 is a bit unclear on the subject, referring only to "mail
> originating in other environments", but I certainly don't see a
> strong recommendation in any of the obvious RFCs to use it for
> webmail.
>
> Of course, it may be that "GMail is flouting RFCs" is simply
> hyperbole, and what you intended to say was "GMail's notion of best
> practise differs from my own"; would that be correct?
Not just my own
>
>
> If you were handling mail for thousands of users and those users
> were being spammed constantly from one source what would you do?
>
> Move to an email hosting provider like GMail...
Wow!
At least you didn't have the gall to say "responsible" or anything
like that ..
Mr Michele Neylon
Blacknight Solutions
Hosting & Colocation, Brand Protection
http://www.blacknight.com/
http://blog.blacknight.com/
Intl. +353 (0) 59 9183072
US: 213-233-1612
UK: 0844 484 9361
Locall: 1850 929 929
Direct Dial: +353 (0)59 9183090
Fax. +353 (0) 1 4811 763
-------------------------------
Blacknight Internet Solutions Ltd, Unit 12A,Barrowside Business
Park,Sleaty
Road,Graiguecullen,Carlow,Ireland Company No.: 370845
More information about the ILUG
mailing list